Events Diary

Over 70 years of performing Gilbert & Sullivan.

  • 70th year logo


The society began life in 1949 as the Augmented Choir of Hanover Street Congregational Church, inspired by Stanley Lockyer, an ardent Gilbert and Sullivan fan, who encouraged his fellow choir members to have a go. Irene Richardson was also a founder member of the society.

In those days, the society had to open its ranks to non-church members who were subjected to an interview by the entire committee before joining. You will be pleased to know that this is no longer a requirement!

In 1951 the society changed its name to the Batley Congregational Operatic Society, but remained at Hanover Street until the church closed in 1973 when it was demolished. Cross Bank Church schoolroom became the new home for the society.

The society adopted its present name of Batley Gilbert and Sullivan Society in 1977. Cross Bank church closed in 1982 leaving the society needing to find a new home and as well as venue for its productions. St. Andrew’s Community Hall became the new rehearsal venue and continues to be the society’s home. Productions were staged at Batley Town Hall until 1988 when the society transferred to the Dewsbury Arts Centre, later known as the Dewsbury Little Theatre. This theatre closed in 2011 so the society moved back to Batley Town Hall, where it continues to perform its Annual Production (generally in April).

Where are we

We rehearse on Wednesdays at 7.30 at:

St Andrew's Community Hall, Denison Street,
West Yorkshire, WF17 7NU

Social Events

We believe in having fun at Batley and keeping ourselves entertained with a variety of activities during the year - anything from pizza nights, theatre trips, ten-pin bowling. See the Members Area for details of forthcoming events.


If you are interested in coming to join us, please contact our Secretary, Lyndsey Hall on email at: Alternatively, just come along to a rehearsal where you will be made most welcome.

Our Commitee

--- Officers ---
President: Stephanie Roe
Vice-Presidents: Debbie Moores &
Fi Baker
Secretary: Lyndsey Hall
Treasurer: Robert Thurman
Committe Members Simon Bray
Faith Church
Philip Haley
Steve Mohun
Rob Moores
Carol Parkinson
None-committee roles
Safeguarding Officer: Gayna Goalby
Safety Officer: Stephanie Roe